Skip Navigation Links Home > About > Board of Directors

2014-2015 Board of Directors

President: Michelle “Mickey” Kaminski, COT

Mickey has worked in ophthalmology for over 32 years. She has served in many capacities in ophthalmology including technician, refractive coordinator and scrub technician, lead trainer, retinal photographer, and clinic manager. She is currently employed as clinic and technician manager at Mid-America Retina Consultants in Kansas City. She is also involved in ATPO with coordinating a regional continuing education symposium in Kansas City for technicians. “I have mentored and trained many technicians throughout my ophthalmic career and I have a passion for ophthalmology. I look forward to serving on the Board for ATPO and helping others to consider or enhance their career as ophthalmic personnel.”



Immediate Past President: Bobbi Ballenberg, COMT

Over the past 34 years, Bobbi has held numerous positions in several private practices as well as the university setting. She is currently the Clinical Manager of the Glaucoma Division at the Jules Stein Eye Institute (JSEI) at UCLA and a training consultant for Kaiser Permanente of Southern California. As an instructor for ATPO and JCAHPO and the former Program Director of the JSEI Ophthalmic Assistant Training Program, she has had the opportunity to teach and mentor hundreds of OMT's as they pursue certification and further their careers. "As I continue to serve on the Boards of ATPO, JCAHPO, and CoA-OMP, I want to lead our growing membership to fulfilling ATPO's mission by becoming more involved in advocacy and legislative issues that will affect our members and profession in the future. Please feel free to contact me about any ideas or concerns you many have or if you would just like to become more active!"


President-Elect: Christine McDonald, COE, COA, ROUB

Christine began working in ophthalmology in 1987. She has worked in nearly every position involved in an ophthalmic practice, beginning at the front desk and working her way to her current position as business manager. Her duties as an ophthalmic assistant have provided her the opportunity to visit many places; most notably Haiti, where she has worked alongside volunteers caring for patients and performing ophthalmic surgery and also worked with others to establish a permanent eye clinic in Haiti. “I currently work to promote the benefits of ATPO within our practice as well as with other ophthalmic technical personnel I meet and I will continue to do so as an ATPO board member.”



Treasurer: Jacqueline Pullos, COT

Like many ophthalmic technicians, Jacqueline's career began as a "happy accident." Twenty-seven years later, she is still doing what she can to preserve, promote, and elevate the profession of ophthalmic medical technicians (OMT) through training, education, and JCAHPO certification within the practice in which she works, as well as locally, regionally, and nationally. Over the years, Jacqueline said that she has seen many changes in ophthalmology, and medicine, in general. Many of these changes have been exciting and positive, while others have raised concerns. "I believe ATPO represents the best interests of OMT, and is one of the keys to preserving and growing these professions through education, professionalism, and legislative action."



Vice-President: Sergina Flaherty, COMT

Sergina M. Flaherty, COMT, has 30+ years of clinical ophthalmic assisting, ophthalmic surgical, as well as ophthalmic photography experience. Sergina is a member of the Ophthalmic Personnel Society of San Antonio (OPSSA) and she has held the office of president and is currently the program director. She is founder and CEO of Ophthalmic Seminars of San Antonio (1996) and currently coordinates and speaks at seminars in San Antonio, Regionally, and Nationally. Sergina is also the full time Senior Ophthalmic Technician, Refractive Coordinator, and Research Coordinator at Stone Oak Ophthalmology in San Antonio, Texas.


Director-at-Large: Amy Jost, BS, COMT, CCRC

Amy serves as the Clinical Research and Education Liaison overseeing numerous clinical research projects and coordinating ophthalmic technician continuing education programs within Cincinnati Eye Institute (CEI).  She has worked in ophthalmology for 18 years and is filled with a passion for continuing education and clinical research. Amy has been an integral part of the development of an internal multi-faceted Tech Training Program. She is the immediate Past-President of the Kentucky state chapter of ATPO (KATPO) and has enjoyed offering her experience and resources to build KATPO membership, communication, and educational opportunities. Serving on the ATPO Board became the next logical step when searching for ways to give back to her peers.


Director-at-Large: Lori Soske, COT

Like so many in the ophthalmology field, I began my career 25 years ago when I was looking for something totally different. I am currently employed at Children's Mercy Hospital in Kansas City, MO, in the ophthalmology department. This position has been a breath of fresh air! It's so rewarding and each day is never the same. I'm grateful for each position I've held for they've made me a better technician and stronger in the field. I feel as though my experience as a technician and working with the ATPO KCSee regional meetings will benefit me in helping the board with ideas and encouraging more technicians to become involved. I believe that ATPO has so much to offer and ophthalmic personnel need to be aware of what's available and how to get it.


JCAHPO Representative: Jessica M. Barr, COMT, ROUB

Jessica has taught numerous ATPO and JCAHPO lectures and workshops over the past several years. Jessica serves ATPO as a Regional Mentor for the northeastern United States and she is the JCAHPO representative on the ATPO Board of Directors. She is the current President for the Philadelphia Regional Ophthalmic Society and helps to plan their continuing education meetings. She is a Program Coordinator and Adjunct Professor at Camden County College for the COT level ophthalmic technician program. Jessica also holds a position as the Clinical Supervisor for the Division of Ophthalmology at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. Jessica participates regularly in community service events such as Give Kids Sight Day and Vision Walk.


JCAHPO Ex-officio Representative to ATPO: Eydie Miller-Ellis, MD, JCAHPO President-Elect

Eydie Miller-Ellis, MD is Professor of Clinical Ophthalmology and Director of the Glaucoma Service at the Scheie Eye Institute/University of Pennsylvania. She received her undergraduate degree from Duke University and her medical degree from the University of Pittsburgh. After completing an ophthalmology residency at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill she pursued a postdoctoral fellowship in glaucoma at Yale University. She then joined the faculty at the Yale University School of Medicine where she remained for nine years. Dr. Miller-Ellis is an active member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, American Glaucoma Society, Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology, National Medical Association, Greater Philadelphia Ophthalmology Society and Women in Ophthalmology.


Secretary: Lynn Anderson, PhD

Dr. Anderson, JCAHPO's Executive Director since 1998 and current CEO, was instrumental in assisting ATPO through the steps for its alliance with JCAHPO and continues to be a strong supporter of ATPO and its benefits to OMT.


ATPO Representatives to JCAHPO
  Bobbi Ballenberg, COMT
  Sergina Flaherty, COMT
    Michelle Willis, COMT, OSA

ATPO Representatives to CoA-OMP
  Bobbi Ballenberg, COMT
  Anna Kiss, COMT

© 2011-2014 Association of Technical Personnel in Ophthalmology | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use